The first time I heard this I scoffed.  How could I possibly need to be in “this” meeting, with these people?  Or in this job?  Or married to this person?  Or in this amount of pain?  What I didn’t understand was that the lessons I needed to learn were wrapped in the experiences I was having in every setting that claimed my presence.  My lessons have been many.  This is true for all of us.  This will continue to be true, in fact.

I was talking to some friends in a phone meeting we have daily  about happiness and what resonates with me when I think of happiness is that it comes from doing small things with love in my heart, and do them wherever I am because that’s the very place I “have been called” to be.  Thinking of my life’s experiences in this way makes them understandable, acceptable, and rich in the rewards I seek, even when I fail to realize I am seeking them.  I never expected to be where I am today.  But I love the “scenery.”

