I pose that question because I think it’s worthy of consideration in every conversation I  have.  I have tried over the past few years to let those words guide me when sharing my opinions with others.  It’s simply so natural for me to think I have all the answers; that my assessment of any situation is the correct one.  However, what may be right for me is not necessarily right for some one else.  This is true whether we are talking about the action a person is considering or the opinion one is harboring.  It’s not my right, or any one else’s either, to assume control over what another person chooses to think or do.

Learning to remain quiet when the urge to correct some one calls, takes a herculean effort in some instances.  I know full well how hard it is to back away from situations and people when I think I know best.  The need to control is insidious.  I marvel at those men and women who appear to be truly unconcerned with the behavior and the opinions of others.  I hope to imitate them one day.  In the meantime, it’s a daily goal for me.

There are some very simple questions that need to be asked.  Is what I am about to say going to be helpful?  Will my words add value to the moment?  Will they harm or help heal the other people present?  If I can’t say yes to all of these questions, remaining quiet is the best contribution I can make.

Learning to be quiet is an art I think.  And it’s one that begins to feel empowering when practiced.  It’s one that can begun a new every day.